Skip to main content

Selection process

Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards Selection Criteria and Process

For the CNDA Awards, teams of three to four volunteer judges, representing both the non-profit and for-profit sectors, evaluate and rate each applicant on three primary aspects of the organization or project:

  • building process or organizational effectiveness
  • community impact
  • and project or organizational challenge.

Teams of judges from the for-profit and non-profit sectors will make a series of site visits to learn more about selected projects. These site visits will be done on September 28, 2017. CNDA applicants in all categories except for the Woods Fund Chicago Power of Community Award that move forward to the site visit review stage, must be available on September 28th for their site visit. The Woods Fund Chicago Power of Community applicants will have their site visits on October 4th.  Applications and site visit reviews are given to the an Awards Committee who reviews all information and makes the selection. Winners will be notified in early November.

The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Architectural Excellence in Community Design Criteria and Process

A jury of recognized leaders from Chicago's architectural and civic community select the winning projects.  To be eligible a development must:

  • be located in Cook County;
  • serve a predominantly low to moderate income population AND/OR be located in a predominantly low to moderate income neighborhood;
  • be completed and in-use upon submission of application; and
  • have been completed within the last three years.

Selection criteria

  • Demonstrates superior design quality responsive to the neighborhood context and the constraints imposed by funding and regulatory agencies;
  • Responds successfully to the needs of the population served;
  • Enhances the overall development of the local community; and
  • Exhibits a creative design solution that could become a model for projects in other neighborhoods.

Submission deadlines

  • Chicago Neighborhood Development Award and applications Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Architectural Excellence in Community Design applications both due on September 7, 2017.  Applicants will be notified by September 30 if they are selected as finalists. Finalists will have a site visit at their project with the Driehaus Jury to be scheduled for October 24th.